Footage from your D16 is automatically saved in the camera’s internal Enterprise-class SSD. Because the CinemaDNG workflow requires the copying of a large number of files rather than individual video files, it’s important to safeguard your footage by verifying that all images in a sequence have been properly copied.
Backup via CF Card
If you use CF cards to copy your footage, you do not need to connect your camera directly to your computer. You will be able to offload your footage directly, using a CF card reader.
Backup via USB3 Port
There are two ways to access your camera’s internal drive by computer:
- via the DATA > COPY USB3 menu while the camera is powered on,
- or by connecting the camera to the computer while powered down.
The camera’s internal drive will appear and be accessible like any external hard drive.
If you are offloading footage directly using your camera’s USB3 port, you will need to make sure your camera mounts properly to your computer before you will be able to see its internal drive and begin to copy your footage. Mounting may take up to five minutes the first time a camera is connected, so be patient. Removing your camera before mounting is complete could cause errors to your computer.
Warning: Never delete footage from your camera’s internal drive via computer. The only safe way to remove footage from your camera is by formatting the camera in the DATA > Format SSD menu.
Topics — Backup on the D16
Tutorials — Backup on the D16
- Backing up D16 Footage using Finder (Mac OS X)
- Backing up D16 Footage using Windows
- Backing up Footage using LightPost (Note: Due to the restructuring of audio files in camera firmware 1.3, the current version of LightPost will not sync audio files via the Copy Room and cannot sync audio files when creating proxies. Audio files must be copied manually until LightPost can be updated.)